Travel Blog- Melbourne

IMG_5808

I don’t even know where to begin blogging about my month long holiday. My days were so jam packed, I told myself I’d just blog about my days when I got home, but now that I’m home, I’m having trouble trying to compress everything into a few posts. Okay well, for this post, I’ll throw in a load of photos in no particular order and mention some key things that I found fascinating.

Melbourne, Australia

I flew on Quantas which was a great flight, we were provided with a meal (lunch) and then were surprised with ice cream blocks after!
image
I don’t know why people don’t like Airline food because I enjoy it a lot to be honest, it just adds to the excitement of travelling overseas! Maybe it’s because I haven’t experienced bad airline food yet. I also requested a kids entertainment pack to colour in :D don’t judge haha.
image
I was shocked at a few things in Melbourne. Firstly, the heat. I was expecting it but their heat is so different from New Zealand! It was from EVERYWHERE AROUND YOU. At times, the air was so thick and heavy, it was hard to breathe after 2 minutes of standing outside and it felt like there was a heater following you and pelting you with hot air at full blast 24/7.

Make sure you head to Chadstone- “The Fashion Capital is which is home to 530 stores including the largest collection of luxury brands under one roof with Australia’s first dedicated luxury precinct. You’ll discover Burberry, Chanel, Coach, Gucci, Hugo Boss, Jimmy Choo, Louis Vuitton, Miu Miu, Omega, Prada, Ralph Lauren and Tiffany & Co.” Screw Melbourne CBD, this is where the good stuff is at!! 2-3 days scheduled for Chadstone is sufficient :)

wpid-2014-02-05-09.47.48-1.jpg
Take note please, this is how shopping is done in Chadstone ;) 

IMG_5534

 

wpid-IMG_20140205_125522.jpg

IMG_5736-2 IMG_5787-2

All in all, my memorable memories would be Chadstone and IKEA. Oh IKEA.. you complete me. IKEA is a furniture store but what’s amazing about it (or the one I went to anyway), is that it’s the size of a shopping mall. Three levels full of furniture that is already laid out for you play, touch and to get inspiration from. It was like an interior design magazine come to life. There were hundreds of sets of bedrooms, kitchens, living rooms etc. ready for you to just plop down and feel like you were in your own little house.

IMG_5852
Took a lot of photos and videos pretending every room was mine in IKEA. So much inspiration!!

I had way too much fun running around all three levels trying to get through it all (we got there half an hour before closing time). Later on, my cousin told me one of the sales assistants was observing us running around gleefully and filming like maniacs, and was like “This is their first time here isn’t it…” And my cousin was all “Uh. Yeppp” in the whole wish-I-didn’t-really-know-them-but-unfortunately-I-do sort of way.

After all that running, we had room for dessert, so my cousins took us to what he told us was one of the best dessert places- Vanilla Lounge.True to his word, this place was  brimming with customers and the counter of rows and rows cakes and pastries was diabetic heaven.

IMG_5893 IMG_5905

4 thoughts on “Travel Blog- Melbourne

Leave a Reply

