Ngopi


This post has been sitting in my drafts for a while now- since the last day of uni actually. I mentioned in my Selera post that I would improve my photography of Asian food, but that has yet to happen. Perhaps it’s the dim lighting in Ngopi, or the colour of the food? It’s most likely just my own fault really. I’ve been flicking back to this post constantly in hopes that the photos would miraculously improve themselves but alas, I’ve looked at them so often that I’ve become used to it.

As a celebration for the end of the semester/year, and in preparation/procrastination for the exams that were to follow, Jia (see her cute review blog which as much more detail here) suggested lunch at Ngopi- a Malaysian, non-for-profit cafe which means that all proceeds of your meals will go toward charities, making it a win-win situation for all.

We were told that our meals would take a while as they were extremely busy which was fine (they run on volunteer work). Our drinks arrived first- I ordered an iced Teh Tarik (milk tea) was perfect- not too sweet and soothingly cold, and it tasted even better as there was a special drinks discount going on at the time.IMG_9661Our meals came out at different times but they were great value for money. 
IMG_9640-2a

My friends ordered Char Koay Teow and Chicken Curry Laksa which were also well received.
IMG_9632IMG_9653-4I particularly enjoyed the Char Hor Fun (Egg gravy noodles), but am unsure about the use of two different types of noodles in the dish. Whilst it did add texture, it felt a bit weird overall- the guilt feeling of carbs on carbs perhaps? IMG_9666bThe food here is not THE best Malaysian in Auckland, but it’s one of the best overall dining experiences in my books due to its atmosphere and charity work- you will walk out with your soul feeling content and well nourished.

Ngopi

79 Anzac Avenue

Auckland CBD, Auckland

6 thoughts on “Ngopi

    1. Sorry for the late reply! I added the “Follow via Email” widget, it should be under the top right hand side button :) Thanks so much for your interest in my blog :D

Leave a Reply

